Tuesday’s Netflix Title – Backcountry (2014)

This film is streaming now on Netflix. I was moving last Tuesday and missed my column. Please forgive me. This is in attempt to catch up! I always thought tents were too thin to be safe when camping. I recall camping last year and hearing strange noises outside the tent. It was quite scary. That’s the fear this drama/thriller is built upon … oh yeah and a big ass black bear.

image

Backcountry (2014)
Cast

Missy Peregrym, Eric Balfour, Nicholas Campbell

Directed by

Adam MacDonald

Written by

Adam MacDonald

Other Info

Horror, Drama, Thriller
Rated R
98min

It’s not the most intricate of plots. IMDB lists it as: “An urban couple go camping in the woods and find themselves lost in the territory of a predatory black bear.” There is a little relationship tension that paves the film but mostly you have this impending Bear threat and the events leading up to meeting the bear are indeed frightening. I am not so sure I would label it horror but there are certainly some scary moments.

This film takes place in the Canadian wilderness, there are may nature-lover sights to behold. Alex (Jeff Roop) seems to know what he’s doing in the outdoors and wants to have an experience deep into it with Jenn (Missy Peregrym), his lawyer girlfriend. The relationship tension is already there but comes to a high point when they run across Brad (Eric Balfour), a wilderness guide walking around mysteriously all alone. It’s hard to tell if he is flirting with Jenn but yes or no, Alex is threatened. After that encounter, Alex shows his prowess is anything but. They become completely lost with no sustenance. It becomes a couple against nature trying to survive. The scenes with the bear come at their weakest point. The scares are worth the wait but in my opinion, there should have been more considering the length of the character development.

This is a great film for hiking and camping people. It’s also akin to a horror movie if you want to be scared. (I loved the bear scares). It shows nature as indifferent to people. The bear doesn’t know their drama or their weakness … he’s just hungry. It took a little long to see the bear and the story in my opinion was a little thin. Still it will bring scares, excitement, and thrills to your family room. If that sounds like some light thriller fun, go see it! I recommend it.

3/5

This post appeared first on Riley on Film.

Author: Damien Riley

I'm a #blogger, #filmcritic, & podcaster with an MA in English from California State University, Fullerton. I'm a 4th grade #teacher as my primary occupation. My views on films and life are usually headstrong and often 'left of center', but I have respect for the other side. I married my high-desert princess (now my queen). We have 3 children.

Leave a Reply

