Throwback Thursday – ep 27 The “Saw” Franchise

For James Wan, director, in the beginning was Saw. This first grisly, mind-bending thriller/horror film didn’t gross all that much but it spawned many many sequels making the franchise one of the most successful in the horror genre. In this podcast, we discuss the entire Saw franchise in detail, brain crunching traps included. Don’t miss this episode. Below are the stats on the film that started it all.

37546379-97F3-42F5-A23B-233498131DAA-1920-00000201D2FC9273_tmp

One of the features of Saw that truly sets it apart is the challenges and traps that are part of the game. It’s no fun, make no mistake, to somehow avoid a bear trap crushing your skull and that’s just one of the grisly inventions in the film. But there is a battle of intellect going on here. Saw says those who do not appreciate life don’t deserve life. Interesting. I wonder how we would fare?

Ready? Do you want to play a game?

We hope you enjoy the podcast.

Author: Damien Riley

I'm a #blogger, #filmcritic, & podcaster with an MA in English from California State University, Fullerton. I'm a 4th grade #teacher as my primary occupation. My views on films and life are usually headstrong and often 'left of center', but I have respect for the other side. I married my high-desert princess (now my queen). We have 3 children.

Leave a Reply

