Damien’s Netflix Pick – Tropic Thunder (2008)

You don’t have to be a fan of war movies to get the humor here, but it helps! You’ve need seen one quite like this. It features a star studded cast including Jack Black and Robert Downey Jr. It’s actors pretending to be in a movie pretending to be about Vietnam. The jokes are funny because they’re taboo. Don’t miss this one. It’s streaming now on Netflix.

Tropic Thunder

Please leave me a comment with your impressions or just to let me know if you want to see it! I’d love to start a dialog in this film with you.

“Through a series of freak occurrences, a group of actors shooting a big-budget war movie are forced to become the soldiers they are portraying.” -IMDB

Cast

Ben Stiller Tugg Speedman – Hot LZ
Jack Black Jeff Portnoy – Hot LZ
Robert Downey Jr. Kirk Lazarus
Jeff Kahn Snooty Waiter – Fatties Trailer

Directed by

Ben Stiller

Written by

Justin Theroux, Ben Stiller

Other Info

Action, Comedy
R
Wed 13 Aug 2008 UTC
121min
IMDB Rating: 7.0

Author: Damien Riley

I'm a #blogger, #filmcritic, & podcaster with an MA in English from California State University, Fullerton. I'm a 4th grade #teacher as my primary occupation. My views on films and life are usually headstrong and often 'left of center', but I have respect for the other side. I married my high-desert princess (now my queen). We have 3 children.

Leave a Reply

